top of page
  • Kayla Sullivan

So why Sixth Year Ministries?



Several months ago, while at a ladies conference, I felt 'Sixth Year' impressed upon my heart during worship. I chuckled to myself, thinking "Yeah God, I know that there's six years between my sister and I."


Several hours later, I got thinking about those two words. This time, I really felt like I was supposed to study it.


And there is where I found the name of this ministry.


Study the Seventh Year


In Deuteronomy 15, the seventh year brought freedom and forgiveness. Verse 2 shares, "...the Lord's time for canceling debts has been proclaimed." Friend, you have to proclaim it for yourself!


"For the Lord your God will bless you as he has promised...", Deuteronomy 15:6. Even if you cannot see it right now, thank God in advance for what you cannot see. God is not slow in keeping His promises, He never forgets them, and He will not disappoint. No, He'll honestly probably surprise you with the bounty that He has in store!


As you read through the chapter, you'll learn that slaves had the choice for freedom in the 7th year. And it wasn't just that they escaped in the night, they were given provision to help them get on their feet.


Running the Race


I cannot help but to imagine how exciting the sixth year had to be, especially for those who had been carrying debts that they could barely repay since Year One. I mean with anything, we labor and tire - sometimes seemingly in vain. We wonder if we'll ever make it. But as the end of the season approaches, we realize that we just need to keep going.


I'm not a runner, and truthfully one look at me and you'll know that I'm not kidding. I probably could not endure a half mile race, let alone a marathon. I had a friend who trained for and ran in a half marathon - and I'm proud of her. But I'll never forget the picture she shared of her feet afterwards, with her toes bleeding into her socks.


In my mind, I can see these runners starting out with excitement. Halfway in, and they realize that they are getting tired. Their body hurts. Sweat is pouring from their head, running down their back. And just when they feel like they should quit, they spot the finish line in the distance. Something inside of them bursts, and they charge onward. They collapse over the finish line, only to look back and see how far they truly have come.


Don't Give Up Yet

  • Are your finances in shambles and you feel like you’re not going to make it?

  • Has infidelity been uncovered in your marriage, and now you’re concerned about divorce?

  • Do you have a child who is running away from God instead of into His loving embrace?

  • Did you recently lose your job?

  • Are you waiting for healing — physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually?

Look towards the finish line, even if you cannot yet see it on the horizon. Trust that God is not going to leave you hanging, that He will fulfill every promise that He's made to you. Praise like you've never praised before, and thank Him for the outcome, the healing, the new opportunity.


It is my hope that this blog will encourage and inspire you. As we testify to God’s goodness, or share some mind-blowing thoughts about the depth of God’s love for you, we pray that you’ll find your strength to praise just one more day.


We’re in the Sixth Year! Remember, praise brings forth breakthrough!




22 views0 comments
bottom of page