top of page
  • Kayla Sullivan

Four Words That Change Everything




Recently, I've discovered the power of four tiny words. These four words can change literally everything, including the trajectory of one's life. But it's not about simply saying them, it's about meaning them.


And what are these words?


I believe in you.

I was a junior in high school when I took a real shining to journalism. I had wrote articles for the school newspaper the year before, and was recently selected to be editor-in-chief. We'd cover stories from around the school, the community, and the world. And I thrived. For a moment in time, I seriously considered going to college for journalism.


Following 9/11, as many are aware, the United States went to war against the Taliban. My heart-throb at the time was a guy serving in the Navy, and I can remember crying uncontrollably when the President gave his speech late at night declaring that our country would fight for the lives lost in New York, Washington D.C., and Shanksville, Pennsylvania. What was going to happen to this man, whom I had feelings for?


I became obsessed with news - and it didn't matter if it was CNN, Fox News, CBS, NBC, you name it, I'd watch it all. And my eyes were opened to something. The life of a journalist wasn't as easy as high school made it seem.


Several times, reporters would be on air giving updates from Afghanistan and you would visibly see or audibly hear explosions behind them. Some would have to say that they needed a moment, or they'd cover their head and duck. I believe it was Lester Holt, he'd provide news from the toughest battle zones - and you could see their moments of fear, the sweat on their brow, and the exhaustion that was overtaking their body.


So one afternoon, I was in the passenger seat of my dad's truck, and I just told him that I didn't want to pursue journalism anymore. He wanted to know why, and listened intently as I shared my feelings that were swirling through my mind. And as he backed his truck in the driveway, he said "Well kid, whatever you decide to do in your life, know that I believe in you."


I completely forgot about that moment until just a few days ago.


And I realized that those words meant a lot then, and still bring tears to my eyes now.


We live in a world where people are striving - and at times, you wonder if they even know what they are striving for. Success? Cars? Money? Some seek confirmation, sadly, at the bottom of the beer bottle, at the blackjack table in Vegas, or even through sexually explicit content. For a lot of people, like myself, work becomes the thing that they pour themselves into. And it's easy to fall prey into the trap of thinking, "I'm doing this for my family.", or "Once I get the promotion, I'll slow down.", or even "Because I'm passionate about this subject, it is my calling, and therefore deserves every ounce of my attention." Some people are so stuck, that they aren't even sure if they can turn their lives around.


In my current line of work, I tend to talk to sex addicts. Some are in denial and argue why they do not need the product that we are offering. Others are desperate to break out of the bondage that they are in, but aren't sure the first steps to take. And then there are those who are well on their way, but feel like they could be spiraling out of control. As the conversation unfolds, I start praying for them - sometimes letting them know what my prayer is, and other times just seeking God to find the words to say. Ironically, in almost every situation, I feel like these people need to hear my four simple words - "I believe in you."


I don't know if it ever makes a difference, but most of them at least say "Thanks". And looking back on my life, I know how important it has been to hear "I believe in you." I needed it when I was seeking to find my way in life, when I chose to leave a decade plus career, or when Jake and I moved to Florida. It was the words that were vital in giving me the strength to keep laboring with Emilie when my body was shutting down, and I wanted to give up.


It's something I've learned to tell my husband. And I've seen his confidence soar - whether it be that he's having a stressful day at work, or he's considering a new adventure. They're not just words, they are the belief held within my heart. I believe in Jake, and I'm proud of who he is.


I share these words with my kids - whether it be before a test, a performance, or a spelling bee. Why? Because I do believe in my kids with every fiber of my being. I believe that they can accomplish anything that they put their minds to. And even if they fail in the process, I'm still going to believe in them. Because love in your heart overflows into believing in someone even when they struggle to believe in themselves.


Many times, I've had to rely on God's still-small whisper in my ears saying, "Go on, you've got this. I believe in you." And I'll never tire of hearing from Him - not because I'm worth it but because His opinion of me changes things. It empowers me.


So who in your life can you encourage today? I'm telling you, the four simple words, "I believe in you" can make all of the difference. You may not notice it immediately, but if you say them often enough, you'll realize that your spouse, your kids, your parents, or your friends will carry themselves differently after hearing it from you.


"I believe in you" gives the courage to face one more day. It gives enough stamina for one more uphill climb.


Maybe today's the day that you just need to hear Jesus whisper it in your ears. Quiet your heart, be still, and listen.


"I believe in you."



17 views0 comments
bottom of page