top of page
  • Kayla Sullivan

A Much Needed Afternoon With God



We all have these moments in life where we just need to sneak away. We need to find some silence, a place to clear our heads, realign our focus, and find our courage to continue onward. Today was one of those days for me - and I wanted to share my experience with you. Maybe you need to hear it too?


 

As I sit here staring at the vastness of the ocean in front of me, I am reminded that this all pales in comparison to God.


As far as I can see in front of me, it's ocean and sky. The multiple shades colliding, making it difficult to believe that there's separation in some places.


One might say the seas are angry, as beautiful white waves roll in, before crashing to the shore below. The roar is constant, the breeze gently whipping through my messy ponytail.


Good thing the beach is empty today. I am a wreck! Messy hair, tears streaming down my face, as I cry out to God.


It's hard to put into words how I feel, so I tell God that I'm tired of the question mark that hovers in front of my line of vision. I wake to it every single morning. And yes, it keeps me from falling asleep at night.


Overwhelmed, overlooked, impatient, frustrated, tired - yeah, those are all descriptive words of my soul right now.


And then I look up. I see this beautiful, crystal clear patch of water out in the middle of the ocean - surrounded by murkiness. And then, God spoke plainly to my heart.



"Oh daughter, how I love you. I see you as beautiful as that spot in the ocean. So pure, teeming with life, waiting to be noticed in a world full of cloudy. They might not see you, but I do."


"You've been destined for great things! You recognize them, you embrace them, you're ready for them. And so you wonder why you're stuck. Limited opportunities where your heart yearns for more."



"You wonder if you're merely but a number. But you're not. You await on promises I've made, wondering if you'll ever see them fulfilled. You will - soon."


"Be patient with Me, child. I can give you your vision, or I can fulfill MINE for you. And trust me, you'll like mine much better!"


"I'm working in ways and in hearts like you wouldn't believe. Silence doesn't mean I've left."


"Very soon, things are going to make a shift. It'll be quick, as I do things quickly with you so as to leave minimal room for Satan to cause you to doubt and fear. Please trust Me."


"Just as I tell the ocean when to be still and when to roar, I command the steps of your life. You're in a good place with me, the murkiness around you just seems intimidating."


"Much like you just witnessed that crystalized patch in the ocean grow, infiltrating the cloudiness around it - I am growing you. You'll shine, you'll see. And your light will radiate, utterly and completely transforming the lives around you. And your reach is far beyond Jensen Beach, I promise you that."


"So stay ready, stay devoted, and keep your eyes locked on ME! You're going to love it! I promise."


The sun is now warming my face and arms, where it was cloudy and lifeless when I arrived. It's time to get up, and return to the family that awaits. There's an adventure that lies ahead, and my soul and spirit feels refreshed and ready!

26 views0 comments
bottom of page